World Cup and a Cup of Caipirinha

It is the best time of the year. The time when all sports are played at their highest stakes. If, by all sports, you’re only considering basketball, hockey, and soccer (futbol!). And, well, basketball and hockey have been decided (I don’t want to talk about it). So that leaves us with… SOCCER!!!

First of all, WHO ISN’T PUMPED for this year’s World Cup? I mean, even if you aren’t a soccer fan, this year’s tourney has been the inspiration for some of the best commercials I have ever seen. Ever. In my life. Try to watch this, or even the Beats by Dr. Dre commercial without getting psyched out of your mind. You can’t.

AND you get to come together in the bars or at a friend’s place to root for the good ol’ U S of A. (or whichever flag you pledge allegiance to…Sorry Ghana).

Speaking of bars, there is one other thing making this World Cup exciting. Meet my new friend, the Caipirinha.

berry caipirinha from Tryst

I know. I spelled it wrong. and fucked up the hashtag. Blame the cachaca.

The caipirinha is the national drink of Brazil. Usually it is cachaca, lime, and sugar. If you know anything about me and drinking, you know that anything + lime + sugar is my jam. Well, the caipirinha pictured above is Tryst’s non-traditional twist: same ingredients, plus strawberry and mint. Brazillians and traditionalists, try not to cringe… It was quite tasty. As the games (and my tour de caipirinha) continue, I’ll definitely have to try an original caipirinha. I think I would like the drink even better if the lime stood out more.

Anyone know a place to get a great caipirinha in DC? Where have you been watching the games?

Leave a comment